Legislation News

Quarterly Pension Payments Sent to Governor, Assembly Passes PBM Bill to Cut Health Care Costs

The legislature is taking steps to shore up the state pension system, approving a bill that would require the state to make quarterly, rather than annual pension payments. The bill (S-2810/A-4) passed both the state Senate and Assembly unanimously and has been sent to the governor’s desk for approval. Christie vetoed this measure twice before, but the Senate President is optimistic about the bill’s prospects. With the bill now on the governor’s desk, we urge that him to take swift action and sign it into law. Quarterly payments would be scheduled for Sept. 30, Dec. 31, March 31, and June 30. The law would take effect on July 1, 2017.

Read more Share

TAKE ACTION: Urge Your State Senator to Support Quarterly Pension Payments

S-2810 is scheduled for a vote on Monday, November 21, 2016. The bill requires the state to make quarterly, rather than annual pension payments. The effect of this change would be to save the pension system and taxpayers billions of dollars over the long run.

CLICK HERE to urge your Senator to support responsible pension funding.

Read more Share

Urge Congress to Stop TPP for Good, Call Now: 855-856-7545


While some have pronounced the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) “dead,” our fight isn’t over yet.  Call 855-856-7545 right now to tell your member of the House of Representatives to oppose a vote on the TPP during this lame-duck session and next year’s session of Congress.

Read more Share

Sweeney and Labor Officials Announce “Buy America” Initiative, Assembly Committees Advance Pro-Worker Bills


Today in Trenton, the voice of New Jersey’s working families was heard loud and clear. New Jersey State AFL-CIO President Charles Wowkanech and Secretary-Treasurer Laurel Brennan joined with Senate President Stephen Sweeney and labor officials to announce a vitally important “Buy America” initiative that would create much needed jobs in New Jersey.

Read more Share

Attention State, County, and Municipal Employees: Protect Your Pension through PERS Trustee Nominations


The nominations process for selecting Trustees to serve on the PERS (Public Employee Retirement System) Board is currently underway. It is imperative that every eligible public employee participates in order to ensure a secure retirement future.

There are a total of three seats up this election cycle: one state, one county, and one municipal. The Public Employee Committee (PEC) of the New Jersey State AFL-CIO unanimously endorsed the below candidates for re-election to the PERS Board based upon their excellent representation to date and the fact they are active union members.

Read more Share

National Days of Action to Stop TPP: Call-In Day (Nov. 16) & Lobby Day (Nov. 30)


The labor movement is fighting to stop the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) because working people cannot afford another giveaway to companies that have profited from shipping our jobs overseas and from exploiting both low-cost labor and lax safety/environmental standards around the world.

Read more Share

Assembly Approves Unemployment Benefits for Striking Workers


Today, members of the state Assembly passed S-2160/A-3819, a bill that will allow workers to access unemployment benefits after 30 days on strike or depending on the nature of the labor dispute. We thank our many affiliates and allies, who joined us in supporting this important legislation, and urge the governor to, for once, put the interests of working families first and sign this measure into law.

CLICK HERE to see how your legislators voted.

Read more Share

TAKE ACTION: Assembly to Vote on Unemployment Benefits for Striking Workers

The state Assembly is scheduled to vote this Thursday on a bill that would allow workers to access unemployment benefits after 30 days on strike or depending on the nature of the labor dispute. Take a moment right now to urge your state Assembly members to support A-3819. Far too often, workers are being taken advantage of by unscrupulous companies that use their clout to force workers into accepting unreasonable wages and working conditions.

Read more Share

Stop the TPP: Call Congress Now to Demand Action 1-855-712-8441


Multinational corporations and right-wing congressional leaders are trying to pass the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) – an awful backroom trade deal that will put Americans out of work, degrade environmental protections, and increase prescription drug prices. If that weren’t bad enough, proponents want a vote to take place during “lame duck” to avoid public scrutiny.

Read more Share

Take Action: Urge the NJ Assembly to Extend Unemployment Benefits to Striking Workers

Assembly Labor Committee Votes to Release Bill 6 to 2 


The decision to go on strike is a matter of having no other choice. In order to protect workers who are forced out on strike, we ask that you send a message right now to your state Assembly members, asking them to support A-3819, which provides unemployment benefits to strikers and is anticipated to be voted on in the coming days.

Read more Share